Genealogy Mysteries – Expanded

Posted by: Eileen A. Souza

Last year, I published my first post titled Genealogy Mysteries. This post can be found at It provided a summary of the genealogy mysteries I discovered at that time. Since then, I have expanded the list to emphasize individual books and to add new books, authors, and series in this sub-genre.

So far, I’ve read all of these books. All were enjoyable. The Nigel Barnes books are page turners, darker than the others, but are le17278861ading the group as my favorites. Vying with Nigel Barnes series is Jefferson Tayte, in one of the newer series by British author, Steve Robinson. This series features an American professional genealogist, who seems to do most of his work in the UK. To me, this series most closely emulates many of our real life dilemmas in the field of genealogy. I am anxiously awaiting the fourth book, which I believe we can expect sometime this year.

I have tried to identify the available formats for these books .  If there is nothing after the title, the book is available in Kindle and possibly other formats.  When not available in the Kindle format, I listed the least expensive format I’ve found on Amazon.

So for those of you who also enjoy genealogy and reading mysteries, I would like to share these expanded and recent discoveries:

• The Nick Herald series by Jimmy Fox features a professional genealogist in New Orleans, Louisiana

o Deadly Pedigree (2001)

o Lineages and Lies (2002)

o Jackpot Blood (2004) – Paperback

• The Danny O’Flaherty series by Jonathan Harrington stars an American teacher researching his family’s roots in Ireland and New York City.

o The Death of Cousin Rose (1996) – Paperback

o The Second Sorrowful Mystery (1999) – Paperback

o A Great Day for Dying (2001) – Paperback

• The Lottie Albright series by Charlotte Hinger features a historian and editor for the county historical society in a small town in Western Kansas.

o Deadly Descent (2009)

o Lethal Lineage (2011)

o Hidden Heritage (2013)

• The Demary Jones series by E. L. Larkin (dec’d) is set in Seattle, Washington, with Demary as the owner of Confidential Research, specializing in genealogy and historical research.

o Hear My Cry (1997) – Hardcover

o Hear Me Die (1998) – Hardcover

o Die and Die (1998) – Paperback

o Dead Men Die (1999) – Hardcover

o The Swallow Murders (1999) – Hardcover

o Die in Texas (2002) – Hardcover

Victory (Torie) O’Shea, a genealogist in New Kassel, Missouri, is ably portrayed in a series by Rett MacPherson.

o Family Skeletons (1997) – Paperback

o A Veiled Antiquity (1998)

o A Comedy of Heirs (1999) – Paperback

o A Misty Mourning (2000)

o Killing Cousins (2002)

o Blood Relations (2003) – Paperback

o In Sheep’s Clothing (2004) – Paperback

o Thicker Than Water (2005)

o Dead Man Running (2006)

o Died in the Wool (2007) – Paperback

o The Blood Ballad (2008) – Hardcover

Natasha Blake, a genealogist in the Cotswolds in England appears in the series by Fiona Mountain.

o Pale as the Dead (2092) – (Kindle release date: Feb 2, 2014)

o Bloodline (2004) – Paperback

• Fay Sampson is the author of the Suzie Fewings books a series about a genealogist discovering interesting secrets in her family history in England.

o In the Blood (2009) – Paperback

o A Malignant House (2010) – Paperback

o Those in Peril (2010) – Paperback

o Father Unknown (2011)

o The Overlooker (2012)

• The Family Tree mysteries by Patricia Sprinkle feature Katherine Murray as an amateur genealogist who finds strange events in the past.

o Death on the Family Tree (2007)

o Sins of the Fathers (2007) – Paperback (Kindle version not available in US)

o Daughter of Deceit (2008)

Mort Sinclair, a respected genealogist and lawyer on Fogge Island off the New England coast, stars in a series by Gene Stratton. Gene Stratton, a much-traveled former CIA case officer, is a well-known genealogist who has had three prior books published: Plymouth Colony, Applied Genealogy, and Killing Cousins, the first Mort Sinclair mystery.

o Killing Cousins (1999) – Hardcover

o Cornish Conundrum (2000)

• The Nigel Barnes series by Dan Waddell concerns a professional genealogist who assists the police, mainly Detective Chief Inspector Grant Foster in London, England.

o The Blood Detective (2008)

o Blood Atonement (2009)

• The Jefferson Tayte mysteries by Steve Robinson feature a professional genealogist who ferrets out family secrets and old mysteries using genealogy research primarily in the UK. This series is a page-turner and keeps getting better and better.

o In the Blood (2011)

o To the Grave (2012)

o The Last Queen of England (2012)

• Patrick Day’s new series starring Anna Fitzgerald, a career detective with the Hennepin County Sheriff’s Office Investigative Division, who becomes entangled with genealogy to trace old coins in this first book of the series.

o Murders and Genealogy in Hennepin County (2012)

Simon Shaw, professor of history and “forensic historian” in Raleigh, North Carolina, in a series by Sarah R. Shaber, uses his expertise historical and genealogical research to help solve murders that have their roots in the past.

o Simon Said (1997)

o Snipe Hunt (2000)

o The Fugitive King (2002)

o The Bug Funeral (2004)

o Shell Game (2007)

• The Alex & Briggie mysteries by G. G. Vandagriff, team up a spunky young widow and her rifle-toting grandmother, who run a genealogy research business called RootSearch, Inc. that seems to specialize in solving murders instead of genealogy secrets or maybe both.

o Cankered Roots (2011)

o Of Deadly Descent (2011)

o Tangled Roots (2011)

o Poisoned Pedigree (2012)

o The Hidden Branch (2011)

• In the Morton Farrier, Forensic Genealogist series by Nathan Dylan Goodwin, we discover a stubborn, determined man who uses whatever means necessary to uncover the past. Great start of a new series.

o Hiding the Past (2013)

• Thomas McKerley and Ingrid Schippers in their first genealogy mystery introduce Cathy Macpherson, who uncovers her own and her husband’s past. Hope this becomes a series.

o Bloodlines – Touch Not the Cat (2012)

• Two books by John Nixon star family historians but are not a series. While not mysteries as we think of them, they both take us through the experiences of our amateur “detectives” unraveling the “mysteries” that surround them.

o Family Shadows

o The Cuckoo Clock

While the following series does not star an amateur or professional genealogist, it does rely on clues from house and family histories to resolve current day crimes:

Meg Corey, who takes over her mother’s colonial home and apple orchard, in fictional Granford, Massachusetts, in the Orchard mysteries by Sheila Connolly.

o One Bad Apple (2008)

o Rotten to the Core (2009)

o Red Delicious Death (2010)

o A Killer Crop (2010)

o Bitter Harvest (2011)

o Sour Apples (2012)

All of the books mentioned here can be found at and most of them come in the Kindle format.


Print Friendly
This entry posted in Interesting Finds | Bookmark the Permalink
<-Back to Blog

2 Responses to Genealogy Mysteries – Expanded

  1. Kathryn says:

    Excellent list! I wasn’t aware of most of these. Looks like some interesting reads.

  2. Wow! I didn’t know there were so many of these type stories. I’d love to read, but too many choices….ouch!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *